“Untold Stories” Part II


Habitually I take my camera, leave my place and lost for long time. These unpredictable journeys never tire me. In searching of stories I traveled miles after miles, I reached many unexpected places by unplanned ways.

Location was India, a mountain near a coal mine. I was not even thinking another terrible accident was waiting for me.

Jharkand, India. One of the largest coal mines in Asia.

© GMB Akash / www.gmb-akash.com

My main focus was low-income people; I find out these poor people who were going back to the coal mine early in the morning. They went for stealing coal & later sell in local market. Next morning I followed them quietly. I experienced they carried these heavy basket full of coals  3 to 4 kilometers from mountain. They were bare foot most were children/female from poorest families.

Jharkand, India. One of the largest coal mines in Asia.

© GMB Akash / www.gmb-akash.com

When I reached to the top of the mountain I could not miss the chance to take photos of those workers, who were working in coal mine. One of my friend was just beside me and poked me to skip from there. Just after few minutes suddenly three men came in the place. Then hold me & my camera tightly, caught my friend as well.

Jharkand, India. One of the largest coal mines in Asia.

© GMB Akash / www.gmb-akash.com

Jharkand, India. One of the largest coal mines in Asia.

© GMB Akash / www.gmb-akash.com

Those men were trying to throw me from the mountain, was scratching me to take the camera but I hold it tightly. I was literally scared but asked them to take me to their boss. They dragged me down, tore my shirt into two parts, hit my shoulders and kicked in my knee. They were dragging me to their boos which is around one & half kilometer. In the meantime of their kicks, I have changed my memory card of the images.

Jharkand, India. One of the largest coal mines in Asia.

© GMB Akash / www.gmb-akash.com

Jharkand, India. One of the largest coal mines in Asia.

© GMB Akash / www.gmb-akash.com

When I meet their angry boss, I managed to tell him that I am a tourist. My hobby is photography, I took picture as in Bangladesh there is no coal mine like this. He took out my cf card and threw to a drain. I said sorry to him, bribe some money and he let me free. I was so scared, their people followed me long. When I returned to the hotel I got sick for few days. But you can not blame a photographer’s blood. I go back again in my next tour and be careful to take pictures that time.

Jharkand, India. One of the largest coal mines in Asia.

© GMB Akash / www.gmb-akash.com

These images are stories of my own experiences. I am writing tours of my life. These journeys invite me in territories I never dream evem. Sometimes I run to save myself, sometimes I take ride in the top of the roof of the train, or I sleep in the flooded floor of village hut, I swim, I hang on, and above all I meet those souls. These adventures invites dangers. But after reaching to those people, getting permission to enter to their private door all my hard work and  risks become worthy.

9 thoughts on ““Untold Stories” Part II

  1. Hi Akash bhaia…………..absolutely stunning…..i am glad that you are safe……and sorry that you have to face such inconveniences…….:\……being a photojournalist has it’s price….:(….i guess that’s one of it!……:\…….YET – Salute You!….splendid photographs!…..worth everything!

    Like

Please share your opinion

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,568 other followers

